Don’t Drink and Drive
If you are arrested for DWI in Texas, you will want to know what the law says about your charges. Facing charges like this can be frightening, so it's crucial to know how you should move forward in the face of these charges. In this blog, we will discuss the blood alcohol content limit, potential punishments, and why it is important to have an attorney by your side. Keep reading to learn more!
Legal Blood Alcohol Content and Driving in Texas
In the state of Texas, it is illegal to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is .08% or higher and drive a vehicle. If you are caught driving with a BAC that is .08% or higher, you can be arrested and charged with DWI.
The legal BAC limit in Texas is lower than in some other states. In many states, the legal BAC limit is .10%. This means that if you are stopped for DWI in Texas, you can be arrested even if your BAC is lower than it would be in another state.
It is important to note that you can be arrested for DWI even if your BAC is below .08%. If an officer believes that you are impaired, you can be arrested.
Consequences of a Texas DWI
The consequences of DWI in Texas depend on several factors, including your BAC, previous convictions, and whether anyone was injured as a result of your drunk driving.
The Punishment for a First Offense
If you face your first DWI offense and your BAC was .08% or higher, you can face a fine of up to $2000 and time of jail of up to 180 days in jail. You may also have your driver's license suspended for up to a year.
If you face your first DWI offense and your BAC was lower than .08%, you can still be charged with DWI. However, the penalties will be less severe. You may face up to 72 hours in jail and a fine of up to $500. Your driver's license may also be suspended for up to 180 days.
The Punishment for a Multiple-Time Offense
If you have been convicted of DWI before, the penalties are more severe. A second DWI offense can result in up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000. You may also have your driver's license suspended for up to 2 years.
A third DWI offense is considered a felony. You can face up to 10 years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000. Your driver's license will also be suspended for up to 2 years.
If you cause an injury to someone as a result of your drunk driving, you can be charged with felony DWI. You may face up to 20 years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
It is important to note that these are only potential penalties. The actual penalties you face will depend on the specific facts of your case.
DWI Attorneys in Texas
If you have been charged with DWI, you should contact an experienced DWI attorney as soon as possible. A DWI conviction can have serious consequences, including jail time, a fine, and losing your driver's license. An experienced DWI attorney will be able to review the facts of your case and help you develop a defense.
If you face DWI charges, turn to the team at Jeff Gilbert Law Office for defense. Our team can help you by crafting a defense against DWI charges. Learn more about how we can help with your case or schedule a case review by calling (979) 200-6556 or by visiting our website.